Troop 465 members, alumni celebrate 50 years
by Rebecca Johnston
June 30, 2013 12:00 AM | 2427 views | 0 0 comments | 97 97 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Back row from left are the members of the original troop, John Ballard, Myron Croft, George McClure, Bob Johnson (Troop 465 first Scoutmaster), Wayne Huffstetler, Joe Champion, Randy Johnson. Front row from left are Ricky Payne, David Callahan (Troop 465 second Scoutmaster) and John Champion.<br>Special to the Tribune
Back row from left are the members of the original troop, John Ballard, Myron Croft, George McClure, Bob Johnson (Troop 465 first Scoutmaster), Wayne Huffstetler, Joe Champion, Randy Johnson. Front row from left are Ricky Payne, David Callahan (Troop 465 second Scoutmaster) and John Champion.
Special to the Tribune
Boy Scout Troop 465 in the Hickory Flat community celebrated 50 years of Scouting on June 23 at the troop headquarters on East Cherokee Drive.

Alumni and members of the troop gathered for a special anniversary recognition ceremony and lunch to mark the event.

“We were very pleased with the turnout and it was great to get a lot of our current and former members back together again,” said Doug Kirk, charter organization representative.

About 150 people attended the event and speakers were George Lingefelt, John Ballard, Jack Mitchell and Art Wick.

Kirk presented a troop flag with the 50-year emblem at the ceremony.

The troop was originally founded in June 1963 and sponsored by the Hickory Flat Elementary School PTA, at the northwest corner of East Cherokee Drive and Hickory Road, according to a history provided by Daniel F. Warner, who wrote a book about the troop in 1995.

When the Scout troop was started, Roy W. Johnson was the principal of the school.

The PTA sponsored the troop until 1985, when the Hickory Flat United Methodist Church Men’s Club became the troop sponsor.

From 1997 to present day, the troop has been sponsored by 465 Alumni Inc., a nonprofit established to perpetuate the philosophies of George Lingefelt, one of the early Scoutmasters of the troop.

There have been five Scoutmasters of the troop since it was chartered in 1963, the history of the organization shows.

James R. Johnson was the first Scoutmaster, followed by David Callahan from 1964 to 1966.

Lingefelt became the third Scoutmaster in 1967 and held that position until 2002. Under his leadership, the troop became strong and its reputation grew, the history said.

Lingefelt received the Silver Beaver Award and completed the Wood Badge class in 1994. He has received numerous awards in the community and is still involved with the troop.

Gerald Dobson became the fourth Scoutmaster of the troop in 2002 and served until 2009. Dobson first became involved with Troop 465 when the first of his three sons joined the troop in 1992.

In late 2009, Mike Pellegrino became the fifth Scoutmaster for Troop 465 and currently serves in that capacity.

Troop 465 has had 21 Scouts who have earned the rank of Eagle Scout since 1967.

In 2006, five Scouts earned the rank and reached a new milestone for the troop.

The troop has met at a number of locations before making its home at its present location on the property that was the old Avery School site. The Scout troop owns the three-acre site and eventually moved the Big Springs Methodist Church Sunday school building onto the property to serve as the Scout Hut.

A basement was dug for the building by Jack Mitchell, an Eagle Scout from Troop 465. The footings, basement floor, basement walls and all of the decks and walkways for the Scout Hut were donated by Dave Butler.

The troop has always enjoyed a variety of activities such as hiking, backpacking, camping, canoeing, rappelling, capture the flag games, orienteering, caving, and community service.

Over the years, summer camp has always been an important part of the troop’s activities. In 1963 and 1964, the troop had its own summer camp at Lake Winfield Scott. For the next six years, the troop attended Bert Adams Scout Reservation camp in Covington for summer camp.

In 1971, the troop again held summer camp at Lake Allatoona. In 1972 and 1973, the troop had summer camp at Cox’s Lake and from 1974 to 1977 the troop held their own summer camp’s on the south side of Crowe’s Lake which is off Roper Road. In 1978, the troop moved to the north side of Crowe’s Lake where they erected a headquarters building, and summer camp was there through 1986.

In 1987, summer camp was at Bert Adams Scout Reservation. In 1988 and 1989, the troop again returned to Crowe’s Lake. In 1990 and 1991, the troop attended the Atlanta Area Council summer camp held at Woodruff Scout Reservation in Blairsville.

In 1992, summer camp returned to Crowe’s Lake. Beginning in 1993, the north Crowe’s Lake site was renamed “Camp George” in honor of Scoutmaster George Lingefelt.

For the summer camps of 2002 and 2003, the troop held summer camps at Camp 175 on Lake Allatoona. After 2003, the troop again attended many summer camp’s at Woodruff Scout Reservation. In 2008, a troop-sponsored camp was held in Salacoa Valley near Waleska.

Camp George while in a different location was re-entered for the first time since the late 1990s. Troop 465 returned to Camp George at Salacoa Valley.

The troop has been active in many high adventure trips over the years.

In 1982, Scout Andy Wick and adult troop 465 charter member John Ballard went to Philmont, participating in the cavalcade program. Ballard was the selected AAC leader for this trek.

In 1987 the troop took the bus to Philmont Scout Ranch. This trip had seven scouts, including Doug Hyche, Adam Whatley and Chuck Hosea, and four adults, including Art Wick, George Lingefelt and Wes Williams.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides