Cruisers latest to take the spotlight at Dixie
by Emily Horos
June 19, 2013 12:44 AM | 1157 views | 0 0 comments | 20 20 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Cruiser championship was the highlight of the race card Saturday night at Dixie Speedway, and the fans weren’t disappointed.

Todd Lankster closed the gap with Jimmy Wilson in the points standings with his victory.

The Cruisers have run 12-14 cars each week, and competition has been close among the top four drivers in the standings. Wilson remains first, followed by Lankster, George Wilson and Joe Trantham.

Track spokeswoman Mia Green said fans were out in great numbers as the track approached its busiest stretch of the season. She said that every week is exciting, and fans never know what to expect.

“That is the beauty of a live show,” Green said. “You never know what it is going to be.”

Green said Dixie should be busy in the upcoming weeks, particularly June 29, when the track hosts Georgia Tourism and celebrates the Fourth of July a few days early with fireworks. Things die down when school starts back up on August and football gets under way.

Green said the track often runs promotions to encourage fans to come back out as the season winds down.

“Our busy season is the next six to eight weeks,” she said. “I told someone (Tuesday) that we are going into turbo mode. Then, we will start planning for our special events in the fall, with monster trucks and the Lucas Oil Shootout. It will be extremely busy for the next six to eight weeks.

“In August, we will start having incentives to bring folks out, because we know it gets to be a busy time and school supplies have to be bought. But right now, we are very busy.”

Saturday’s Cruiser championship was one race in a series that is being held at Dixie to thank the regular drivers. On June 22, the track will hold the Pony Stock championship.

“We try to do a championship for a division every single week during the season so that every division will have some extra pay money throughout the year,” Green said. “Except for the Super Late Model, it’s your regular drivers that get the championships like that. The guys who are here every week.”

Also winning Saturday were David Burtz (Econo Bomber), Kirk Atkins (Super Bomber), Jamie Cross (Pony Stock), Zach Pilcher (Crate Late Model), Jason Williams (Limited Late Model) and Austin Smith (Super Late Model).
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides