Light turnout for third day of qualifying
by From staff reports
March 06, 2014 04:00 AM | 2534 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
CANTON — The third day of qualifying for the May 20 primary election saw almost no new candidates, although some expect the turnout to pick up by the end of qualifying Friday at noon.

A Republican candidate for the Cherokee School Board was the only contender to qualify Wednesday for any of the partisan and non-partisan seats up for election for the county this year, which also include seats on the Board of Commissioners and all seats in the General Assembly.

Most of the county’s incumbents qualified to seek re-election by Tuesday afternoon, including the county commission chair, a county commissioner and one school board member. All of the county’s representatives in the state House and Senate with the exception of Rep. Sam Moore (R-Macedonia) have also qualified. Moore couldn’t be reached for comment Wednesday, though he has said he planned to run for re-election.

After the number of candidates qualifying began to thin Tuesday, Rick Davies, Cherokee GOP chairman, said he expected more hopefuls to come forward toward the end of the week.

As of Wednesday afternoon, all of the candidates to qualify for Cherokee County’s partisan positions have been Republicans.

Cherokee Democratic Party head Georgette Thaler has said she was more hopeful that some from her party would run on the state level, although 2014 might not be the year for Democrats in Cherokee.

“Quite honestly, I think there will be a slight change in the wind for 2016,” Thaler said Wednesday. “But it’s not over til the fat lady sings. We still have a day and a half.”

Cherokee County’s Republican and Democratic parties will qualify candidates for

partisan races for the county school board, the board of commissioners and the office of the solicitor general at the conference center at the Bluffs. Any independent or Libertarian candidates for those jobs can qualify at the Cherokee County Elections Office.

State House and Senate candidates will sign up at the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office in Atlanta, as will candidates for Cherokee Superior Court judge.

The winners of Republican or Democratic nominations will go on to compete in the November general election. Winners of the non-partisan elections, however, will be chosen in the May 20 race.

Following is a list of candidates who have qualified for Cherokee County elections so far:

State Representative, District 20

● Rep. Michael Caldwell (R-Woodstock) (I)

State Representative, District 21

● Rep. Scot Turner (R-Holly Springs) (I)

State Representative, District 22

● Meagan Biello, Republican

State Representative, District 23

● Rep. Mandi Ballinger (R-Canton) (I)

State Representative, District 46

● Rep John Carson (R-Marietta) (I)

State Senator, District 21

● Sen. Brandon Beach (R-Alpharetta) (I)

State Senator, District 14

● Sen. Bruce A. Thompson (R-White) (I)

State Senator, District 56

● Sen. John Albers (R-Alpharetta) (I)

Board of Commissioners Chairman

● Jacqueline Archer, Republican

● Leavitt B. “Buzz” Ahrens (R-Canton) (I)

Cherokee County Commissioners

● District 1 — Harry Johnston (I) Republican

● District 4 — Kenneth Scott Gordon, Republican

Cherokee County Board of Education

● District 3 — John Harmon, Republican

● District 3 — Brett Ladd, Republican

● District 4 — Robert Rechsteiner (Rick Steiner), (I), Republican

● District 5 — Clark Menard, Republican

● District 6 — Mike Chapman, Republican

Cherokee County Solicitor General

● Jessica Moss, Republican (I)

● Judge of Superior Court, Blue Ridge, District 008

● Superior Court Judge N. Jackson Harris (I)

● State Court Judge Alan Jordan (I).

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides